RSS

10/10 Potholder

16 Nov

So I made this potholder (two of them!) based off of a potholder my mom had when I was a kid, that (I believe) a great grandmother had made. I was young, just starting to crochet, and was facsinated by it…it was cotton, two layers, round, and orange, lol. I remember it so well. I couldn’t figure it out back then, but this month I bought a roll of cotton yarn. I needed a couple potholders adn some kitchen rags, and although I could have gotten them very cheaply, this only cost $5 and gave me a fun weekend project. Oh, and they all match, which is super cool in my book!

Anyways, I am sure others probably have made the exact same potholders, mine is really not unique…but I made it off the top of my head, and it turned out well, and so I thought I’d give it a name and post it here. 😀 My apologies if you have done the same in the past, I promise I didn’t steal the pattern!

So….make a magic circle! (Google it if you don’t know what I am talking about…they are awesome and I love them!) and make one st.
Rnd 1: 10 sc, slip stitch to attach (10 sc)
Rnd 2: 2 hdc in each sc around, join (20 hdc)

Rnd 3: 1 hdc in first hdc, 2 in second, repeat around, join (30 hdc)

Anyways, continue in like fashion for each round until you hit ten rounds. Each round should end up with a multiple of ten hdc when you join (rnd 2, 20…rnd 5, 50…rnd 10, 100)

You have to make two of these.

I made one super tight in stitches and one looser, just to see which I liked better. I do like the tighter one more, but they are both perfectly functional.

Once you get both rounds made up, sc in each hdc around to join the two together. At the end I made a few stitches to make a loop and put a bunch of sc in there, too…so I could hang them if I wanted.

Yeah, I know my crochet-pattern writing skills are awful. LOL. For the same reason I failed science class in highschool. Just no patience for the tedious business. I hope you can kind of get what I mean, and if you can’t…Facebook me? lol. Sorry the comments are off right now. 😀 Anyways. It gave me joy. 😛

 
Comments Off on 10/10 Potholder

Posted by on November 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
